Guns N’ Roses Duff McKagan Not Attending Walking Papers Launch Party? Is He Working With Guns N’ Roses In The Studio?

With Guns N’ Roses on hiatus (at least publicly), the members of Guns N’ Roses appear to be keeping busy with other projects. Dizzy Reed is out touring with his band Hookers and Blow and has his solo album later this year. Slash is in the studio working on new material for what one can assume is another Conspirators record and Duff has a new Walking Papers album coming out at the end of this month.

Duff Mckagan’s side project the WALKING PAPERS, featuring Jefferson Angell (THE MISSIONARY POSITION), Benjamin Anderson (THE MISSIONARY POSITION) and Barrett Martin (SCREAMING TREES, MAD SEASON), will release its second album, “WP2”, on January 19, 2018 via Loud & Proud Records. On the band’s Facebook page they have advertised a launch party for the album on January 27, 2018 in Seattle. One item that seems to have roused suspicion is the fact that Duff McKagan is not listed as one of the band members for the event. The description for the event reads as is:

“Its the official launch of the new Walking Papers album “WP2″ and we’ve invited some of our very special friends to join us. Its an all-ages event with our friends Vaudeville Etiquette opening the show and then Walking Papers will play as:

Jeff Angell – Vocals, Guitar
Ben Anderson – Keys, Vocals
Barrett Martin – Drums, Vocals

With special guests:

Evan Flory Barnes – Upright Bass
Nate Daley – Guitar
Dave Carter – Trumpet
Hans Teuber – Saxophones”

This has led some people to believe that perhaps Duff McKagan is back in Los Angeles working on new music with Guns N’ Roses. It’s also a coincidence that during Slash’s recent interview with Nikki Sixx on Sixx Sense he talked about working on new material. Perhaps it was new material for Guns N’ Roses?  Only time will tell…….

WALKING PAPERS have launched a PledgeMusic campaign for pre-orders. There fans will find exclusive offers for merchandise, unique items and experiences with the band, and the only place to purchase the song “This Is How It Ends” along with its companion comic book by Angell, graphic novelist Matt Hayward and artist Csaba Master.

“WP2” track listing:

01. My Luck Pushed Back
02. Death On The Lips
03. Red & White
04. Somebody Else
05. Yours Completely
06. Hard To Look Away
07. Before You Arrived
08. Don’t Owe Me Nothin’
09. This Is How It Ends
10. I Know You’re Lying
11. Into The Truth