Slash Records ‘Living the Dream’ With Digital Equipment Because Analog Was Too Expensive!


Analog Has Become Too Expensive For Slash to Record With!

According to Ultimate Guitar

While discussing his upcoming new album “Living the Dream,” Slash explained that he used digital equipment in the recording process because he probably couldn’t even break even had he opted for the analog approach.

The GN’R guitarist told Hard Drive Radio (transcribed by UG):

“I like analog because I’m a fan of the way analog sounds. But going into the studio – like a commercial studio – and paying for it and all that kind of stuff is pretty taxing financially.

“And the way the record business is now, to break even on a record that you spent that much money on – the chances of you getting the money back are pretty slim. So I finally resigned to doing it digitally because it’s just less gear, less time, less a lot of things.

“Elvis, the guy who produced it – Mike Baskette, but we call him Elvis Liberace – he’s a really great engineer and a great producer. He used some equipment that really softened up the whole digital approach.

“And when you listen to it, you don’t think of it as a digital record. And I’m gonna release it on vinyl just because it’s that soft-sounding. Yeah, I’m a vinyl guy.”

Does Myles Kennedy write lyrics on his own or does he have to consult with you?

“He had in the early days when we first got together. I remember we were doing [Slash’s sophomore solo album, 2012’s] ‘Apocalyptic Love,’ when he sat me down and wanted to talk to me about some lyrics and if I would help him on something. And I was like, ‘You know what? You’re fine.’ [Laughs] ‘You don’t need my help.’

“Ever since then it’s always been like, whatever he’s gonna come up with… I know Myles well enough so it’s really not a question that I have as to what the content of the lyrics is gonna be.”

What’s up with the title of your upcoming album “Living the Dream”?

“It was more of a sarcastic statement towards domestic politics. And global politics, really. There’s a lot of shit going on. [Laughs]

“So ‘Living the Dream’ I thought was a very apropos sort of statement towards that. In all honesty, I don’t like to sort of advocate a lot of political points of view in music in a rock ‘n’ roll band, because it seems like that’s what I wanna get away from. So I don’t like to go there.

“But this is one of those titles that you can take it for what it is. And that’s what it was.”

“Living the Dream” is due out on September 21 as Slash’s fourth solo record. You can check out the two singles unveiled thus far – “Driving Rain” and “Mind Your Manners” – in the embedded players below.


‘Living the Dream’ track listing:

1. The Call of the Wild
2. Serve You Right
3. My Antidote
4. Mind Your Manners
5. Lost Inside the Girl
6. Read Between the Lines
7. Slow Grind
8. The One You Loved Is Gone
9. Driving Rain
10. Sugar Cane
11. The Great Pretender
12. Boulevard of Broken Hearts